NMFS and USFWS are changing how they implement the ESA

August 12, 2019

The National Marine Fisheries Service and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service jointed announced they are changing how the implement portions of the Endangered Species Act.

There are several areas where they are changing their approach, specifically Sections 4 and 7. Section 4 deals with listing and delisting species under the ESA and critical habitat, and Section 7 deals with consultations under the ESA.

For more information:

Press Release from USFWS

Regulatory Changes: